Cebu, Davao Exhale as They Transition to GCQ on June 1

Returning to work or staying home?
Apart from Metro Manila, Cebu and Davao will also shift to general community quarantine beginning June 1.
Photo/s: Courtesy of Jerome Ascano

Cebu and Davao are shifting to general community quarantine (GCQ) on June 1.

This is according to the announcement of Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque during the Laging Handa press briefing today, May 30.

The other areas are under regions 2, 3, and 4-A, and 7, including Pangasinan and Zamboanga.

Once these places shift to GCQ, mass transportation will be allowed, but in a limited capacity.

Residents below 21 and over 60 years old will still have limited movement because their health are said to be more vulnerable to the virus.

Mass gatherings are not allowed.

The rest of the country will be placed under the modified general community quarantine (MGCQ), which is a step closer to the so-called "new normal" when the community quarantine protocols may be fully lifted.

Roque said that MGCQ is the transition phase where "temporary measures are relaxed and become less necessary."

Here is the list of cities that will be placed under GCQ starting June 1:

Continue reading below ↓



Region 2: Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Santiago City

Region 3: Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, Olongapo City

Region 4-A: Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, Quezon, Lucena City

Highly Urbanized Cities of NCR and the Municipality of Pateros


Region 7: Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor, Cebu City, Mandaue City, Lapu Lapu City


Zamboanga and Davao

Here is the list of cities under MGCQ starting June 1:


Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR): Abra, Apayao, Baguio, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province

Region 1: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Dagupan City

Region 4-B: Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Palawn, Puerto Princesa City

Region 5: Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Masbate, Sorsogon, Legazpi City, Naga City


Region 6: Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Iloilo City, Baclod City

Region 8: Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Western Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc City, Tacloban City

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos


Region 9: Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, Isabela City

Region 10: Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City

Region 11: Davao de Oro, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Occidental, Davao Oriental

Region 12: North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, General Santos City

Region 13 (Caraga): Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Butuan City

Bangsamoro Autonomous Religion in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM): Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Cotabato City

On May 28, President Rodrigo Duterte first announced that Metro Manila will be placed under GCQ from June 1 to 15, upon the recommendation of Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF).

Latest Headlines
Recent News