ECQ is Expanded to Laguna, 2 Other Areas

More areas under lockdown.
Photo/s: Jerome Ascano

Laguna and two other areas will be under the stricter enhanced community quarantine or ECQ from Aug.6 to 15, Malacañang announced Thursday in a bid to control the spread of the more transmissible Delta variant of coronavirus.

Also placed under ECQ are Iloilo City and Cagayan de Oro, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said. For the same period, Cavite, Lucena, Rizal, and Iloilo province will be under modified enhanced community quarantine or MECQ, he added.

The community quarantine in the provinces of Batangas and Quezon were also escalated to general community quarantine with heightened restrictions from Aug. 6 yo 15.

The announcement was made a day before neighboring Metro Manila goes into lockdown mode which will last until Aug. 20.

Authorities have promised to use the lockdowns to speed up COVID-19 vaccinations. So far, some 10 million Filipinos have been fully vaccinated against the virus.

Continue reading below ↓
Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos
Latest Headlines
Recent News