These Progressives Are Running in the 2022 Elections

Here are Makabayan bloc's candidates for next year.
Photo/s: Neri Colmenares/Facebook

The Makabayan Coalition of progressive groups this week unveiled the list of candidates it will back for the 2022 elections, vowing to uphold the interests of the Filipino working class by ensuring sectoral representation through its member parties. 

Echoing the goal of opposition groups, the bloc said the top assignment for 2022 is to stop the continuity of President Rodrigo Duterte's regime, which since 2016, has been criticized by the coalition for its human rights abuses, corruption scandals, and most recently, a "failed" pandemic response.

Less than a week before the filing of certificates of candidacy, Makabayan revealed its lineup, consisting of two senatorial candidates and five partylists that each have three nominees gunning for a House seat. 

Colmenares, Labog for Senator

Neri Colmenares

Human rights lawyer and former Bayan Muna congressman Neri Colmenares is vying for a Senate seat for the third time, having lost his past two bids. The current chairperson of the National Union of People’s Lawyers (NUPL), Colmenares has remained a vocal critic of anti-people policies in government. 

Continue reading below ↓

In 2022, Colmenares said he is running again to challenge candidates that the Duterte administration will be fielding. As part of 1Sambayan, he has been acting in helping build a united opposition for next year's elections.


Elmer Labog

Although a newcomer in formal politics, Elmer Labog , for the past 40 years, has been serving as a full-time organizer, union leader, and human rights advocate.

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos

He is currently the national chairperson of Kilusang Mayo Uno (KMU), a group advocating for the rights of the Filipino workers.

Aside from his position in KMU, Labog is also the vice chairperson of Bagong Alyansang Makabayan (BAYAN) and the president of the International League of People’s Struggle (ILPS) in the Philippines. 



Continue reading below ↓

1st Nominee: France Castro — incumbent ACT Teachers Partylist representative, teacher for 25 years, first public teacher ever to be elected as a legislator

2nd Nominee: Antonio Tinio  ACT Teachers Partylist representative from 2010 to 2019, union leader among public school teachers and personnel

3rd Nominee: David Michael San Juan    renowned poet and essayist, advocate of the Filipino language and the rights of private school teachers

SPED teacher Helene Dimaukom and Fabian Hallig are ACT's fourth and fifth nominees, respectively.


Continue reading below ↓

1st Nominee: Rafael Mariano   ex-Anakpawis Partylist representative, ex-secretary of the Department of Agrarian Reform

2nd Nominee: Lana Linaban — women’s and workers’ rights advocate

3rd Nominee: Francisco Mariazeta III   labor organizer in the National Capital Region, founder of BAYAN-Metro Manila


1st Nominee: Teodoro ‘Teddy’ A. Casino   former Bayan Muna Partylist rep. (2004 to 2013), current BAYAN secretary general and spokesperson

Continue reading below ↓

2nd Nominee: Ferdinand Gaite  incumbent Bayan Muna Partylist representative, former national president of the Confederation for Unity, Recognition, and Advancement of Government Employees (COURAGE)

3rd Nominee: Amirah Lidasan   national secretary of the Moro Christian People’s Alliance (MCPA), national council member of the Movement of Moro and Indigenous Peoples for Self-Determination (SANDUGO)

Human rights lawyer Krissy Conti was named as Bayan Muna's fourth nominee, followed by Pepito Pico, John Ruiz, and Roman Polintan as fifth, sixth, and seventh nominees, respectively.

Current Bayan Muna Rep. Carlos Zarate next year will reach the term-limit for his position, having served for the past nine years. Rep. Eufemia Cullamat will not seek a second term.


Continue reading below ↓

1st Nominee: Arlene Brosas  current Gabriela Womens Partylist representative

2nd Nominee: Dr. Jean Lindo   environmentalist and health professional from Davao City, advocate of indigenous people's rights

3rd Nominee: Lucy Francisco  women’s, LGBTQIA+, and consumer rights advocate from Panay


1st Nominee: Raoul Manuel  University of the Philippines Visayas' first summa cum laude graduate, ex-UP Student Regent and National Union of Students of the Philippines (NUSP)president, convenor of Rise for Education (R4E), and Youth Act Now Against Tyranny (YANAT)

Continue reading below ↓

2nd Nominee: Angel Galimba  member of Aktibo sa Tignayan Dagiti Agtutubo ti Kordilyera para iti Demokrasya ken Rang-ay (TAKDER), indigenous peoples' rights advocate

3rd Nominee: Jandeil Roperos   current NUSP president, LGBT activist, and convenor of the Student Aid Network

Kabataan's succeeding nominees are Jianred Faustino (fourth nominee), Jayvie Cabajes (fifth nominee), Vince Alloso (sixth nominee), and RJ Ledesma (seventh nominee). Incumbent Rep. Sarah Elago will not seek a third term.

It takes 2% of overall partlist votes for a party list nominee to gain a House seat, with a limit of three.

Ensuring representation of marginalized sectors is important, analysts have said,  but over the last decade, the House of Representatives has seen the rise of groups that do not come from "marginalized and underrepresented" communities, which runs counter to the purpose behind the establishment of the party list system. 

Latest Headlines
Recent News