IN PHOTOS: Malacañang as Witness to History, Rise and Fall of Presidents

From Quezon to Marcos Jr.
Photo/s: Official Gazette of the Philippines

Hours after his inauguration last June 30, President Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. took over Malacañang as its new tenant, symbolizing his family's return to the country's seat of power that has seen crucial moments throughout Philippine history.

The son and namesake of former President Ferdinand Marcos Sr. reclaimed the official residence of Philippine chief executives 36 years after his family was ousted from power following the bloodless revolt in EDSA.

He is also the third child of a former president who spent his younger years in the Palace and returned to it decades later as its new occupant, after former President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo and the late President Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino III.

READ: 'So Will It Be With the Son': How Bongbong Marcos is Influenced by His Father

Stricly speaking, the physical structure of the Palace is officially known as Malacañan. However the building as well as the Office of the Preisident, is more popularly referred to by the name with the "g" at the end --Malacañang.

Continue reading below ↓

Throughout the years, the Palace has seen 16 presidents come and go, numerous official functions and gatherings, and protest actions against the government --- all of which have, in one way or another, changed the course of Philippine history.

Here are some images that illustrate the role that Malacañang played in the county's history:

Manuel Quezon is first Filipino resident of Malacañang

Presidential Museum and Library PH/Flickr
Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos

Former President Manuel L. Quezon climbs up the stairs of Malacañang Palace on the day he was inaugurated as the president of Philippine Commonwealth, now officially regarded as the second president of the Philippines.

Quezon is the first Filipino to reside in Malacañang, and he started the traditional climbing of the stairs in the Palace to symbolize the formal possession of the new president of his new residence.

The Palace is also featured in obverse side the current P20 bill beside an image of Quezon's face.

Ramon Magsaysay opens Malacañang to public

Presidential Museum and Library PH/Flickr
Continue reading below ↓

Former President Ramon Magsaysay, who is known for his affinity to the masses, opened the gates of Malacañan to the public.

Magsaysay's term as president would eventually be cut short after he died in an aircraft accident on March 17, 1957.

Marcoses first live in Malacañang in 1965

Presidential Museum and Library PH/Flickr
Continue reading below ↓

Former President Ferdinand Marcos Sr. and his family are the longest occupants of Malacañang, staying there from December 1965, during his first term as president, until February 1986, when they were forced into exile to Hawaii, for a total of 21 years.

When the Marcoses first lived in Malacañang, Marcos Jr. was only eight years old. He returned to the Palace as president at 64 years old.

People storm Malacañang after Marcoses flee

Presidential Museum and Library PH/Flickr
Continue reading below ↓

Filipinos trooped at the gates of Malacañang Palace on the evening of Feb. 25, 1986 after it was confirmed that the Marcos family had escaped to Hawaii, marking the end of Marcos Sr.'s 21-year rule.

Arroyo returns to Malacañang


Former President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo became the second-longest tenant of Malacañang after serving as president for a total of nine years. She assumed the unfinished term of former President Joseph Estrada after he was ousted in January 2001, and was reelected in the 2004 presidential elections.

Continue reading below ↓

Arroyo is also the first child of a former president, Diosdado Macapagal, to return to Malacañang as chief executive. She was succeeded by the late President Benigno Aquino III, who also spent his youth in Malacañang as the only son of former President Corazon Aquino.

Marcos Jr. reclaims seat of power

Office of the President/PCOO
Continue reading below ↓

Thirty-six years after the 1986 EDSA Revolution overthrew his father's government, incumbent President Bongbong Marcos returned to Malacañan as the current chief executive. This marked an important milestone in the resurgence of the Marcoses to power.


The Powers of the Philippine President, Explained

Salary, Privileges of the Philippine President

Latest Headlines
Recent News