Religious Gatherings Allowed In Areas Under GCQ and MGCQ, But...

...there's a limit on the number of people.
Religious gatherings will be allowed in areas under Modified General Community Quarantine as long as only half of the church or religious venue is occupied.
Photo/s: Courtesy of Jerome Ascano

Religious gatherings will be allowed in areas placed under Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ).

However, the number of people present at a church or any religious venue must occupy only half of the place.

This was the announcement made by Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra today, May 30, after leading the dialogue between government and religious groups.

MGCQ is a relaxed form of the community quarantine, and is a step closer to the so-called "new normal," which is when community quarantine protocols may be fully lifted.

Meantime, areas placed under General Community Quarantine (GCQ)—which include Metro Manila, Cebu City, and Davao City—can have religious gatherings with a maximum of 10 people present.

But this can still change, following the IATF dialogue with the religious sector and local government chiefs on Monday, June 1.

Guevarra says the national government task force will make its final decision on the same day.

Continue reading below ↓

Earlier today, the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) for the Emergence of Infectious Diseases released a list of the places that will come under MGCQ.

Starting June 1, 2020, these are the places under MGCQ:


Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR): Abra, Apayao, Baguio, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province

Region 1: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Dagupan City

Region 4-B: Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Palawn, Puerto Princesa City

Region 5: Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Masbate, Sorsogon, Legazpi City, Naga City


Region 6: Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Iloilo City, Baclod City

Region 8: Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Western Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc City, Tacloban City


Region 9: Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, Isabela City

Region 10: Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City

Region 11: Davao de Oro, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Occidental, Davao Oriental

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos

Region 12: North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, General Santos City

Region 13 (Caraga): Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Butuan City

Bangsamoro Autonomous Religion in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM): Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Cotabato City

On June 1, 2020, these are the places under GCQ:



Region 2: Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Santiago City

Region 3: Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, Olongapo City

Region 4-A: Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, Quezon, Lucena City

Highly Urbanized Cities of NCR and the Municipality of Pateros


Region 7: Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor, Cebu City, Mandaue City, Lapu Lapu City


Zamboanga and Davao

Latest Headlines
Recent News