Senators Urge NTC to Revoke Order to Close ABS-CBN

Twelve senators signed the resolution calling for the continuous operation of the nation's largest network.
Photo/s: AP/Aaron Favila

The Senate has adopted a resolution urging the National Telecommunications Commission to reconsider its cease and desist order (CDO) against ABS-CBN.

PSR 395 also urges the NTC to allow the continuous operation of ABS-CBN, its subsidiaries and affiliates pending the disposition of its franchise renewal.

Twelve senators voted in favor of the resolution— Senators Risa Hontiveros, Franklin Drilon, Juan Miguel Zubiri, Ralph Recto, Kiko Pangilinan, Sonny Angara, Joel Villanueva, Nancy Binay, Lito Lapid, Sherwin Gatchalian, Manny Pacquiao, and Leila De Lima. 

Nine senators, including Sen. Pia Cayetano who earlier signed the resolution, abstained. They said the franchise renewal of ABS-CBN should come from the House of Representatives.

The senators who abstained were  Senate President Vicente Sotto III, and senators Panfilo Lacson, Francis Tolentino, Cynthia Villar, Imee Marcos, Ronald "Bato" Dela Rosa, Christopher Lawrence "Bong" Go and Ramon "Bong" Revilla Jr.

 ABS-CBN halted its operations on the evening  of May 4 after a final broadcast on TV Patrol.

Continue reading below ↓

The network has  filed a petition claiming the NTC "gravely abused" its discretion when it issued a cease-and-desist order instead of deferring to Congress, which has the plenary power to grant and renew legislative franchises.

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos
Latest Headlines
Recent News