Follow us for updates
© 2020
Read the Story →

Military Gets First Medal of Valor Awardee as Chief of Staff

Among the bravest of the brave.
by Arianne Merez
Just now
Photo/s: Handout

The Armed Forces of the Philippines will soon be led for the first time by a Medal of Valor Awardee, Lt. Gen. Cirilito Sobejana, Malacanang said Wednesday.

Sobejana, currently the commanding general of the Philippine Army, will replace Gen. Gilbert Gapay, who is retiring on Feb. 4.

The Medal of Valor is the military's highest honor, given only to 41 individuals since the 1930s. It is reserved for the bravest of the brave and is recipients are revered in the military. Protocol dictates that if the recipient wears his medal, the president of the country must salute him.

“We are confident that General Sobejana will continue to modernize our military and undertake reform initiatives to make the Armed Forces truly professional in its mandate as the protector of the people and the State,"Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said in a statement.

Sobejana is part of the  Philippine Military Academy “Hinirang” Class of 1987. He is classmates with another Medal of Valor receipient, Maj. Gen. Bartolome Bacarro, currently the AFP adjutant-general.

Continue reading below ↓

Prior to becoming Army chief, Sobejana was commander of the Western Mindanao Command.

Latest Headlines
Read Next
Recent News
The news. So what? Subscribe to the newsletter that explains what the news means for you.
The email address you entered is invalid.
Thank you for signing up to On Three, reportr's weekly newsletter delivered to your mailbox three times a week. Only the latest, most useful and most insightful reads.
By signing up to newsletter, you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.