Follow us for updates
© 2021
Read the Story →

Bising Update: Rains to Persist in Parts of Luzon, Visayas

The latest on the storm.
by Arianne Merez
Just now
Satellite image of Typhoon Bising taken at 10:40 a.m., April 20, 2021
Photo/s: Satellite image courtesy of PAGASA

Rains brought about by Typhoon Bising (Surigae) will persist in parts of Luzon and Visayas, PAGASA said Tuesday as it warned of possible floods and landslides.

Bising, the second storm of the Philippines this year, has maintained its strength with maximum sustained winds of 175 kph near the center and gusts of up to 215 kph.

 PAGASA said moderate to heavy rains will prevail over Catanduanes while light to moderate at times heavy rains are likely over the eastern portion of Quezon, Camarines Provinces, Sorsogon, Albay, and Northern Samar.

"Under these conditions and considering the antecedent rainfall over the aforementioned areas, flooding (including flashfloods) and rain-induced landslides are highly likely to occur especially in areas identified in hazard maps as highly or very highly susceptible to these hazards," it said.

Continue reading below ↓
Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos


Here's Your Typhoon Safety Guide 

Here are the 2021 Typhoon Names from PAGASA 

Why Does PAGASA Name Typhoons After People?

The following tropical cyclone wind signals were raised:

Signal No. 2 (old galvanized roofs may be blown off)

  • Eastern portion of Cagayan (Santa Ana, Gonzaga, Baggao, Gattaran, Lal-Lo, Peñablanca, Santa Teresita, Buguey, Camalaniugan, Aparri)
  • Eastern portion of Isabela (San Pablo, Maconacon, Divilacan, Ilagan, Palanan)
  • Catanduanes 

Signal No. 1 (twigs of small trees may be broken)

  • Batanes
  • Rest of Cagayan including Babuyan Islands
  • Rest of Isabela
  • Quirino
  • Apayao
  • Eastern portion of Kalinga (Pinukpuk, Rizal, Tabuk City)
  • Eastern portion of Mountain Province (Paracelis,Natonin)
  • Eastern portion of Ifugao (Aguinaldo, Alfonso Lista)
  • Northern portion of Aurora (Baler, Dipaculao, Dinalungan, Casiguran, Dilasag)
  • Eastern portion of Quezon (Calauag, Guinayangan, Tagkawayan) including Polillo Islands
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
  • Albay
  • Sorsogon
  • Northern Samar
  • Northern portion of Samar (Matuguinao)
  • Northern portion of Eastern Samar (Jipapad, Arteche, San Policarpo, Oras)
Continue reading below ↓

Reportr is now on Quento. Download the app on iOS and Android or visit the Quento website for more articles and videos from Reportr and your favorite websites.

Latest Headlines
Read Next
Recent News
The news. So what? Subscribe to the newsletter that explains what the news means for you.
The email address you entered is invalid.
Thank you for signing up to On Three, reportr's weekly newsletter delivered to your mailbox three times a week. Only the latest, most useful and most insightful reads.
By signing up to newsletter, you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.