Follow us for updates
© 2022
Read the Story →

Metro Manila Downgraded to Alert Level 2 from Feb. 1, What Will Change?

Heads up.
by The reportr team
5 days ago
Photo/s: Jerome Ascaño

Metro Manila will be downgraded to COVID-19 Alert Level 2 starting Feb. 1 to 15, including Valentines Day, Malacañang said Sunday as the country sees a decline in virus infections.

Other areas that will be placed under Alert Level 2 are the provinces of Batanes, Bulacan, Cavite, Rizal, Biliran, Southern Leyte, and Basilan, Cabinet Sec. Karlo Nograles said.

Under Alert Level 2, children can still go outdoors for leisure activities, and industries are allowed to operate at bigger capacities based on guidelines issued by the Inter-Agency Task Force on COVID-19 response.


GUIDE: New Rules for International Arrivals Replaces Red-Yellow-Green Lists 

Only Fully Vaccinated Foreigners Allowed to Enter Philippines Starting Feb. 16

Heroes Always On Call: What's It Like to Be a Frontliner During the Omicron Surge

Who can go out?

Under Alert Level 2, children are allowed outdoors for leisure activities. Those under 18 years old are allowed in establishments that can operate at a maximum 50% capacity indoors and 70% capacity outdoors based on guidelines issued by the Inter-Agency Task Force on COVID-19 response.

Continue reading below ↓

Movements both intrazonal (within Metro Manila) and interzonal (in and out of Metro Manila) are allowed subject to possible restrictions to be imposed by local government units.

What's new with Alert Level 2?

Activities and businesses allowed under Alert Level 3 will still be allowed under Alert Level 2 with bigger capacities.

The following are now also allowed at a maximum 50% capacity indoors and 70% capacity outdoors:

1. Limited face-to-face classes for higher education institutions

2. Fitness studios, gyms, and venues for individual non-contact exercise and sports, subject to DTI sector-specific protocols. No group activities are allowed.

3. Film, music, and television production subject to the joint guidelines as may be issued by the DTI, DOLE, and the DOH.

4. Contact sports approved by the LGU where such games shall be held

5. Funfairs/peryas or kid amusement industries such as playgrounds, playroom, and kiddie rides

6. Venues with live voice or wind-instrument performers and audiences such as in karaoke bars, clubs, concert halls, and theaters

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos

7. Gatherings in residences with individuals not belonging to the same household

What's prohibited?

The following remain prohibited except for those authorized by the IATF and the Office of the President:

1. Casinos

2. Horse racing

3. Cockfighting and operations of cockpits

4. Lottery and betting shops and other gaming establishment

Here are the areas under Alert Level 3 starting Feb. 1:

  • Abra
  • Apayao
  • Baguio City
  • Benguet
  • Kalinga
  • Mountain Province;
  • Dagupan City
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Ilocos Sur
  • La Union
  • Pangasinan
  • City of Santiago
  • Cagayan
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Quirino
  • Angeles City
  • Aurora
  • Bataan
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Olongapo City
  • Pampanga
  • Tarlac
  • Zambales
  • Batangas
  • Laguna
  • Lucena City
  • Quezon Province
  • Marinduque
  • Romblon
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Puerto Princesa City
  • Albay
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
  • Catanduanes
  • Masbate
  • Naga City
  • Sorsogon
  • Aklan, Antique, Bacolod City, Capiz, Iloilo City, Iloilo, Negros Occidental and Guimaras;
  • Cebu City
  • Lapu-Lapu City
  • Mandaue City
  • Bohol
  • Cebu
  • Negros Oriental
  • Siquijor
  • Ormoc City
  • Tacloban City
  • Eastern Samar
  • Leyte
  • Northern Samar
  • Western Samar
  • City of Isabela
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga Del Sur
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Bukidnon
  • Cagayan de Oro City
  • Iligan City
  • Lanao del Norte
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Davao City
  • Davao Del Sur
  • Davao Del Norte
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao de Oro
  • General Santos City
  • North Cotabato
  • Sarangani
  • South Cotabato
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao Del Sur
  • Agusan Del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Butuan City
  • Maguindanao
  • Cotabato City
  • Lanao Del Sur
Continue reading below ↓

Reportr is now on Quento. Download the app or visit the Quento website for more articles and videos from Reportr and your favorite websites.

Latest Headlines
Read Next
Recent News
The news. So what? Subscribe to the newsletter that explains what the news means for you.
The email address you entered is invalid.
Thank you for signing up to On Three, reportr's weekly newsletter delivered to your mailbox three times a week. Only the latest, most useful and most insightful reads.
By signing up to newsletter, you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.