Follow us for updates
© 2021
Read the Story →

PH Expands Travel Ban to Indonesia Where Delta Variant is Spreading

Until July 31.
by Arianne Merez
Just now
Photo/s: Jerome Ascaño

The Philippines will prohibit the entry of travelers from Indonesia starting July 16, Malacañang said Wednesday as the neighboring Southeast Asian country struggles with a surge in COVID-19 cases that's driven by the Delta variant.

The travel ban will last until July 31, 2021, Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said.

Travelers already in transit from Indonesia and all those who have been to the said country within 14 days immediately preceding arrival to the Philippines before 12:01 a.m. on July 16 will still be allowed to enter but should undergo a 14-day facility-based quarantine and will be subject to RT-PCR testing. 

"This action is undertaken to prevent the further spread and community transmission of COVID-19 variants in the Philippines," Roque said.

The Philippines is also extending its travel ban on India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, the United Arab Emirates, and Oman. 


Reportr is now on Quento. Download the app on iOS and Android or visit the Quento website for more articles and videos from Reportr and your favorite websites.

Continue reading below ↓
Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos
Latest Headlines
Read Next
Recent News
The news. So what? Subscribe to the newsletter that explains what the news means for you.
The email address you entered is invalid.
Thank you for signing up to On Three, reportr's weekly newsletter delivered to your mailbox three times a week. Only the latest, most useful and most insightful reads.
By signing up to newsletter, you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.