Follow us for updates
© 2021
Read the Story →

Philippines Extends Travel Ban on 10 Countries to Aug. 31

To stop the spread of the Delta variant.
by Pia Regalado
Just now
Photo/s: Jerome Ascaño

The Philippines will extend the travel ban on 10 countries to thwart the spread of the hyper contagious Delta variant, Malacañang said Friday.

President Rodrigo Duterte approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) to extend the travel restrictions on arrivals from the following:

  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Sri Lanka
  • Nepal
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Oman
  • Thailand
  • Malaysia
  • Indonesia

As of Aug. 11, the Philippines recorded a total of 627 Delta variant cases, of which 13 are active cases, the Department of Health said.

More on the Delta variant

Continue reading below ↓
Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos

Reportr is now on Quento. Download the app or visit the Quento website for more articles and videos from Reportr and your favorite websites.

Latest Headlines
Read Next
Recent News
The news. So what? Subscribe to the newsletter that explains what the news means for you.
The email address you entered is invalid.
Thank you for signing up to On Three, reportr's weekly newsletter delivered to your mailbox three times a week. Only the latest, most useful and most insightful reads.
By signing up to newsletter, you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.