Follow us for updates
© 2020
Read the Story →

U.S. Arrivals Banned Starting Jan. 3 Due to New COVID Strain

Effective Jan. 3
16 hours ago
Photo/s: shutterstock

The U.S. is now also included in the Philippines' arrival ban after America confirmed its first case of a new COVID-19 strain that spreads more easily, Malacañang said Friday.

Foreign passengers coming from the U.S. or who have been there within 14 days preceding arrival in the Philippines, will be prohibited from entering the country effective 12:01 a.m. of Jan. 3  until January 15, 2021, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said.

Travelers from the U.S. who will arrive in the Philippines before Jan. 3 will be allowed entry, Roque said, noting that they should undergo a 14-day facility-based quarantine even if they test negative for COVID-19.

The inclusion of the U.S. will bring to 21 the number of countries of origin whose travelers cannot enter the Philippines. It only initially included the UK, where the variant of SARS-CoV-2 was first detected. The list now includes:

Continue reading below ↓
  • United States
  • United Kingdom
  • Denmark
  • Ireland
  • Japan
  • Australia
  • South Africa
  • Israel
  • Netherlands
  • Canada
  • France
  • Switzerland
  • Hong Kong
  • Singapore
  • Germany
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • Lebanon
  • Sweden
  • South Korea


New COVID Strain: What We Know So Far

Duterte Raises Alert on New COVID Strain, Says Lockdown a 'Possibility' if Cases Spike

Face-to-Face Classes Pilot in January is Scrapped

Latest Headlines
Read Next
Recent News
The news. So what? Subscribe to the newsletter that explains what the news means for you.
The email address you entered is invalid.
Thank you for signing up to On Three, reportr's weekly newsletter delivered to your mailbox three times a week. Only the latest, most useful and most insightful reads.
By signing up to newsletter, you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.