Here are the Areas Under State of Calamity Due to Typhoon Odette

Help is needed.
Photo/s: Erwin Mascarinas/Greenpeace/Handout via Reuters

President Rodrigo Duterte has placed several regions under a state of calamity following the devastation caused by Typhoon Odette in a bid to speed up relief and recovery efforts.

At least 300 people were killed in the monster storm that left around a million people homeless days before Christmas.

The following regions are under a state of calamity for a year starting Dec. 21, 2021:

  • Western Visayas
  • Central Visayas
  • Eastern Visayas
  • Northern Mindanao

Declaring a state of calamity will hasten rehabilitation efforts, help control the prices of basic goods in affected areas, and allow local government units to easily tap their disaster response funds.

All government agencies and departments were tasked to augment or provide basic services and facilities of affected areas based on Duterte's order.

The Philippines is usually battered by an average of 20 storms each year that ruin harvests, flatten houses, and displace millions.


Here's Where You Can Donate to Typhoon Odette Victims

Continue reading below ↓

Here's What You Can Donate to Typhoon Odette Victims

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos
Latest Headlines
Recent News