Follow us for updates
© 2020
Read the Story →

Quarantines Willing, 40 More Countries Allow Entry to Filipinos

They have to follow their destination's corresponding COVID-19 protocols.
by John Paulo Aguilera
Aug 3, 2020
Photo/s: Suganth via Unsplash

Forty more countries have eased travel restrictions for Filipinos, the Department of Foreign Affairs said Monday. Keep in mind, however, that rules in destination countries are different from our own. The country's pandemic task force recently restricted foreign travel to essential missions.

Filipinos are now allowed to enter the following countries, subject to compliance with COVID-19 protocols:  Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Jamaica, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, French Polynesia, New Macedonia, Tanzania, Zambia, Kenya, and Sudan.

Continue reading below ↓

The Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases recently reimposed the ban on non-essential outbound travel, expect for those leaving the Philippines for work, business, medical emergencies and humanitarian purposes. On Tuesday, Metro Manila will revert to a strict quarantine or MECQ.

China, Taiwan, Vietnam, the Marshall Islands, Sri Lanka, and Guyana allowed entry exemptions for dual citizens of the destination country and/or returning residents, OFWs with work visas and contracts, diplomatic or UN passport holders, and government officials on official travels, the DFA said.

See Also

The DFA said the borders of 55 countries remain closed. Despite the easing of restrictions, the agency reminded potential travelers to check dates with airlines and embassies or consulates before booking a flight.