Follow us for updates
© 2020
Read the Story →

Looks Like We Still Can't Travel to Japan Anytime Soon

The Philippines is still included on Japan's entry ban list.
by Clara Rosales
May 26, 2020

You can’t book that flight to your dream destination right now because of COVID-19, but that doesn’t mean you can’t look at seat sales and great deals. Travelling will be on the table again once everything settles down, and you’ll finally be able to go on that vacation. However, you might have to put that Japan trip on hold.

According to a report on Kyodo News, Japan is expanding its entry ban to more nations as part of efforts to prevent the spread of COVID-19, Prime Minister Shinzo Abe said on May 25.

The ban will take effect on May 27 and will remain in place "for the time being." This means foreign nationals who have been to these areas within the last 14 days will be turned away upon arrival in Japan.

Afghanistan, Argentina, Bangladesh, El Salvador, Ghana, Guinea, India, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, South Africa, and Tajikistan are the newest additions to Japan’s entry ban list. 

Continue reading below ↓

The Foreign Ministry announced the ban to the 11 nations last week and discouraged citizens from taking any trips to the countries.

With this latest addition, Japan’s entry ban list now has 111 countries, including the Philippines, United States, China, South Korea, and all of Europe. 

If you’ve stayed in any of the countries in the list within 14 days prior to landing in Japan, you’ll be turned away.

Continue reading below ↓

Citizens and foreign nationals from the following countries are banned from entering Japan:


  • Brunei
  • China
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Philippines
  • Republic of Korea
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam


  • Australia
  • New Zealand

North America  

  • Canada
  • United States

Latin America and the Caribbean  

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Barbados
  • Bahamas
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Honduras
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Saint Christopher and Nevis
  • Uruguay 


  • All countries in Europe

Middle East  

  • Bahrain
  • Iran
  • Israel
  • Kuwait
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates


  • Cape Verde
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Gabon
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • Sao Tome and Principe

Aside from the entry ban, Abe said Japan would make use of other border control measures to curb the spread of the respiratory disease. This includes visa suspensions and a mandatory 14-day quarantine period for all arrivals, including Japanese nationals, until June 30.

Main image from Manuel Cosentino on Unsplash.